Google Search
Justia Law Firm Web Site Designs

Traffic Violations and DWI's

The state of Missouri’s traffic violation laws are like those in most other states. If you commit three speeding and/or misdemeanor traffic violations within 18 months, your license will be revoked for at least six months.

Naturally, there are many other consequences for traffic violations and driving violations such as DUI’s.The punishment in drunk driving cases is set forth by the state statutes and can be incredibly complex.

The basic Missouri statute determines the range of possible sentences, with modifications for such things as:
    •    Having a prior conviction within seven years
    •    Speeding 20 mph over the limit
    •    Having a child under 14 in the car
    •    Having a blood alcohol content reading over .20%
    •    Refusing to submit to chemical testing

Some of the most common Traffic Violations include:
    •    Child Restraint Law
    •    Child Safety Seat
    •    Cutting Corner
    •    Disregard Traffic Control Device
    •    Driver’s License (DL) Violation
    •    Failure to Fasten Seat Belt
    •    Failure to Yield Right-of-Way
    •    Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (vehicle insurance)
    •    Improper Turns
    •    Running Red Lights
    •    Ran Stop Sign
    •    State Registration Law
    •    Speeding

Moving Violation Points in Missouri
2 Points
    •    County Speeding Ticket
    •    City / Municipal Speeding Ticket
    •    County Careless and Imprudent (C&I)
    •    Municipal C&I
    •    Electric Signal Violation
    •    Most Moving Violation Convictions
3 Points
    •    Missouri Speeding - MO State Law
4 Points
    •    MO Careless & Imprudent - State Law
    •    Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance)
8 Points
    •    1st Offense Conviction
    •    Driving While Intoxicated - DWI
    •    Driving Under the Influence - DUI
    •    Blood Alcohol Content .08% - BAC
12 Points
    •    1st or Subsequent Conviction
    •    Leaving Scene of Accident - MO Law
    •    Driving While Suspended
    •    Driving While Revoked
    •    2nd or Subsequent Conviction
    •    Driving While Intoxicated - DWI
    •    Driving Under the Influence - DUI
    •    Blood Alcohol Content .08% - BAC

Please call me at 816-56-5440 to schedule an appointment so we can get to know each other and determine how I can help you.

Please fill out and complete my intake form.  Please bring your completed intake form to your first appointment.  If this is an emergency and you are unable to print and complete the form, please just call me and you can complete the form upon your arrival.

Also ensure you have any tickets and other information regarding your case when contacting and/or visiting the office.

The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and not to be made solely on advertisement.   This web site is designed for general information only.  The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.  Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek counsel for advice regarding their legal issues.

<script type="text/javascript">

  var _gaq = _gaq || [];
  _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-30263239-1']);

  (function() {
    var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;
    ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '';
    var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);